The Final Frontier: Space Really Is Made In A Hollywood Basement

It’s was a few years ago that the music video for Buck 22’s rap version of Billy Ray Cyrus’ Achy Breaky Heart debuted.  As I watched the video, I took a look at the alien space ship they were on, laughed to myself and thought, “I’ve seen that place before!”

That space ship, or the set for that spaceship, is located in San Fernando Valley, on Laurel Canyon Blvd, in a city called Arleta, at a facility called Laurel Canyon Sound Stages, which is managed by my friends Les and Mary Claypool.

Not only was the spaceship used for the Billy Ray Cyrus song, but if you walk around the corner in the background of the shots you’ll find the alien autopsy table used for History Channel’s Alien Autopsy series.

alien

For me, getting to take a peek behind the veil of Hollywood and see a little slice of how it’s really made was what I would call an ultimate travel score.

-Matthew

Leave a Reply

